Skip navigation
TechXchange
Digi-Key TechXchange Communities > General > Discussions
54779 Views 19 Replies Latest reply: May 29, 2012 4:02 PM by nestoribio RSS
Currently Being Moderated

May 17, 2012 7:59 AM

Audio Transformers -- Need a technical Insight.

Hi Folks,

I'm a Digital Design Engineer and would like to get some information from some of you guys. As i said i'm into Digital Domain so I know really less about analog and very less about audio transformers let me give you a brief intro of my design

I need to design an amplifier with 50W o/p & output drive of 4/8 Ohm loudspeaker at 70V/ 100V AC line and capability of driving multiple speakers, I have chosen MAX9709 to do the amplification job, with some R&D i have learnt i might need an audio transformer.

I have some brief questions please try and answer them.

1 - When do we opt for an Audio Transformer in an audio design?

2 - What are the critical metrics associated with an audio transformer?

3 - How to interface the electronic circuitry to the speakers (this is the biggest question for me)?

Please feel free to give info related to this in any way, irrespective of the questions asked.

Thanks & Regards

Schneider

• MikeWeed Novice 62 posts since
    Oct 21, 2011
    May 17, 2012 10:52 AM (in response to Schneider)

You don't need an audio output transformer with the MAX9709, and in

fact the chip will not work with an audio output transformer. Connect

the speakers directly to the chip as shown in the data sheet. This

is a class D amplifier, meaning that the audio output signal is 200kHz

(in this case) modulated by the signal in the audible range up to 20kHz.

The speaker inductance averages out the 200kHz to produce audible sound.

Audio output transformers were originally used with tube type amplifiers

to convert the high voltage (and high impedance) signal from the plate

of the tube to a lower voltage for the lower 4 or 8 ohm impedance speaker.

Oct 21, 2011