Skip navigation
TechXchange
Digi-Key TechXchange Communities > General > Discussions
16438 Views 5 Replies Latest reply: Jan 8, 2012 10:04 AM by ucancallmerandy RSS
Currently Being Moderated

Dec 29, 2011 10:27 AM

Engineers: Why Aren’t You Doing Work For Good?

WRITTEN BY: Ryan Martens

Designing software is easy, but engineering to make a difference--being a Citizen Engineer--is the true challenge.

I am an engineer.

Like all engineers, I got a ton of science-based education during my studies. Like all engineers, I am used to taking science and figuring out how to apply it. Like all engineers, when something gets under my skin, I can’t help trying to visually prototype ways to solve it. And the science of climate change is starting to scare me as the numbers keep coming back even worse than scientists’ worst-case models. Right now, we have one-third more CO2 in the atmosphere than we have had in the last 400,000 years.

At a world population of 7 billion, which is projected to reach between 9 and 12 billion by 2050, we are straining the natural systems that maintain clean water, clean air, fertile soil, biological diversity, and the planet’s temperature. With the degradation of these natural systems, life on earth will be inhospitable for human beings by the year 2100. That’s only 88 years from now.

How old are your kids and grandkids?

It turns out that the way of life that we all helped create is not sustainable for the future, and we need to fix it. Are you an engineer? If so, our society needs you to apply yourself to the global warming problem for the remainder of your life.

That is the role of a Citizen Engineer.